Some non-Jews know what the word “kosher” means, while others aren’t sure, especially when the word is used to describe foods that aren’t allowed as well as unethical behaviors.
“Come on, John. You know it isn’t kosher to spread rumors about Mary. If you want a promotion, go about it honestly.” In this context, the word is being used to describe a behavior that is unethical, even dishonest. The speaker is reminding John that, if he wants a promotion at work, he should work for it honestly with hard work, not by bad-mouthing his colleague.
In connection to foods, “kosher” means that foods have to be acceptable under rabbinical law before Jews can eat them. Some categories that further define it are: “never kosher,” “kosher when supervised” and “innocuous.” Foods falling into the “never kosher” group include pork and shellfish. Foods classified as kosher must contain kosher ingredients and be prepared using kosher equipment. Innocuous foods include vegetables and fruits that need no additional processing. To learn more read our Bright Hub guides.
Image: Star of David FDP Credit luigi diamanti: http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/view_photog.php?photogid=879