Pin Me

How to Erase Data from Your BlackBerry

written by: •edited by: Simon Hill•updated: 12/4/2010

How to wipe a BlackBerry of its settings and data. How to backup BlackBerry data for restore purposes. Instructions for the Torch, Pearl and older models.

  • slide 1 of 6

    How to Erase Data from your BlackBerry

    This article discusses how to wipe a BlackBerry. Steps to wipe the BlackBerry are given for the Pearl, Torch and older models and they vary slightly in execution. From time to time whether you are selling on your phone and want to ensure your personal data is fully removed or having technical issues, a security wipe is needed. Knowing how to erase data from your BlackBerry gives you the power to manage your phone. If you are having random software issues, wiping the handheld can sometimes work as a fix.

  • slide 2 of 6

    Backing up Data

    Blackberry wipe 

    You may want to ensure that you have all the right information backed up from your BlackBerry before initiating the handheld wipe.

    Connecting your BlackBerry to your PC as a removable device will allow you view and to browse through the folders and copy any relevant data for backup.

    You can copy any of these folders to your PC to make a backup.

  • slide 3 of 6

    How to wipe a BlackBerry Torch

    torch 

    Instructions for wiping a BlackBerry Torch:

    • Go to options
    • Select security
    • Select security wipe
    • You have the option to erase:
    1. Emails, contacts etc.
    2. User installed applications.
    3. Media Card.

    You can select all of the above for a complete wipe. You will need to type blackberry into the text box provided to complete the step and select wipe data.

  • slide 4 of 6

    How to wipe a BlackBerry Pearl 9105

    pearl 

    Instructions to wipe a BlackBerry Pearl 9105:

    • Go to options
    • Select security
    • Select security wipe
    • You have the option to erase:
      1. Emails, contacts etc.
      2. User installed applications.
      3. Media Card.

      You can select all of the above for a complete wipe. You will need to type blackberry into the text box provided to complete the step and select wipe.

    • slide 5 of 6

      Older BlackBerry Models

      Older BlackBerry models have a few less options or owner control features. These particular instructions are based on the BlackBerry Pearl 8110 and will apply to most other phones of this generation (the Storm, the Storm2, etc). In general, use the following steps to erase data:

      • Go to settings
      • Select security options
      • Go to general settings
      • In this window use the blackberry key which pops up a menu
      • On this menu select wipe handheld
      • Select continue
      • Enter blackberry into the text box to confirm

    • slide 6 of 6

      Forced Data Erasing

      You may have a password set up or delegated to your phone via your network provider. If you have a password assigned to your BlackBerry and you fail to enter it correctly at the default set times, you will be prompted to erase the handheld, forcing a new setup. Unfortunately this does not provide the opportunity to backup your data and both your setup and folders will be newly formatted.

      The backup process above will benefit greatly in these cases. BlackBerry also ships with a disk containing BlackBerry desktop manager software that can also run the backup task and other phone related functions.