In this part of the series, I will show you how to set up your Drupal blocks. The blocks are used to set up your navigation and other sections of your website. In this tutorial, I will show you how to create new blocks and modify your other blocks. So, let’s get started. Login to your admin panel and click Site Building > Blocks.
On the blocks page, you will see the different sections of your Drupal site. These are your blocks. This will determine how your site is layed out. On the left side you will see the name of the block, in the center you will see the region it is in, and on the right you will see the configure and delete link.
Let’s go through a couple of the blocks so you can get a feel of how to do it. Then you can start creating and configuring your blocks the way you want them. Let’s take a look at the first block. The first block is the User Login block. This is the block on the left where you login to your admin panel. You can change the position of this block by dropping the middle box down. When the box drops down, select where you want the User block to be positioned. If you wish for the block to be invisible, select the None link in the drop down box.
Beside the drop down box is the Configure link. Click the Configure link to change the settings of the User Login block. On the configuration page, you can change the title of the block, change the visibility settings, and other things about the block. These fields are pretty self explanatory. Once you have configured your settings, click the Save Block button. You will be carried back to the blocks page.
You can set up your other blocks the same way. You do not have to activate all the blocks. The ones you do not want to be visible, simply set them to none. You can also create your own blocks. At the top of the blocks page you are on, you will see the Add Block tab. Click the tab and you will be carried to the Add Block page. On this page you will need to fill out the fields. These fields are about the same as the configuring fields, except here, you will be entering information about the new block you want to create. Click Save Block when you have finished. Your new block will be saved and you will be redirected back to the blocks page.