Pin Me

What is Incognito Mode in Google Chrome?

written by: Airaj Fatimah•edited by: Brian Nelson•updated: 2/17/2010

One of Google Chrome's innovative features, Incognito mode, is a new way to browse the internet - without leaving a trace. Learn how to use this feature which might greatly alter the way you surf the Internet.

  • slide 1 of 2

    What is Incognito mode in Google Chrome

    All of us wish sometimes that we could browse the internet without leaving an electronic trail behind us. It could be for planning a surprise party for a child, searching for a better job from your office cubical or just wanting to protect your personal information in a cyber café. Sure, we can delete history and stuff. But imagine searching for a something for two hours on the internet, then cleaning up your history, your temporary internet files and still not being sure if you deleted every shred of evidence of your online activities.

    Google Chrome took our plight into consideration and came up with Incognito mode. When you browse in incognito mode, nothing will be stored in your history. Any proof of web pages browsed or files downloaded will wipe clean after you close the window. No cookies will be stored of these online sessions.

    To open a window in incognito mode, click the page menu on the right of the address bar. Select New Incognito window from the drop-down menu. A new window in incognito mode will open. You should be able to see an incognito sign in the top left corner.

    Alternatively, you can right-link any link on a webpage and select Open link in incognito window. This will setup the link in a new window in incognito mode. You can browse in a normal window and a window in incognito mode at the same time.

    Even though, browsing in incognito mode is a great advantage, don’t assume there aren’t ways you can still be exposed. The Google Chrome web browser does not store information in Incognito mode but the websites you visit do. Any information you supplied the websites with, will be stored on their server. Any files you downloaded will still be on your computer. Any changes you make to the Google Chrome’s browser settings will be saved.

    This feature is only useful when you want no record of your browsing history. If you don’t provide your information to other websites or download files in incognito mode, then maybe you can truly keep your stealth activities to yourself.

    To learn more about Google Chrome’s Incognito mode, check out the video at: http://www.google.com/support/chrome/bin/answer.py?answer=95464&hl=en

  • slide 2 of 2

    Google Chrome's window in Incognito mode

    How to open a window in Incognito modeGoogle Chrome window in Incognito mode