Pin Me

Label Management in Gmail

written by: rfreshour•edited by: Michele McDonough•updated: 9/17/2008

The second article about Labels, Label Management in Gmail shows the user how to edit and delete labels from any Gmail window or the Settings window.

  • slide 1 of 2

    In the first article covering Labels in Gmail, we covered how Labels are more effective than folders and how to create them. In this article, we will cover how to manage labels by editing and deleting them, as well as how to use the Labels tab in the Gmail Settings page.

    Editing labels in Gmail allows a user to change the name of the label. There are two ways to edit the name of a label;

    From Any Gmail Window

    1. Log into Gmail.

    2. Click on the Edit Labels link at the bottom of the Labels box.

    3. Click Rename next to the desired label.

    4. Enter the new label name.

    5. Click OK.

    From the Settings Window

    1. Log into Gmail.

    2. Click on the Settings link in the top right corner of any Gmail page.

    3. In the Settings screen, click on the Labels tab (third from right).

    4. To the right of the Label name to be edited, click Rename.

    5. Enter the new name for the label.

    Once a label has been edited, all emails or chats with that label will show the new label name.

    Labels can also be deleted. Once the label is deleted, it will be removed from any email or chat that had the label. However, the email or chat itself will remain in the Inbox or All Mail categories.

    There are two ways to delete a label;

    From Any Gmail Window

    1. Log into Gmail.

    2. Click on the Edit link at the bottom of the Label box.

    3. Click on Remove Label next to the label to be deleted.

    4. Confirm by clicking OK.

    From the Settings Window

    1. Log into Gmail.

    2. Click on the Settings link in the top right corner of any Gmail window.

    3. In the Settings screen, click on the Labels tab (third from right).

    4. To the right of the label to be deleted, click Remove.

    5. Verify the action.

    Again, deleting a label only removes the label name, NOT the emails or chats that are archived under that label name.

  • slide 2 of 2

    Images

    Label Settings Page in Gmail