When you delete a book that you have purchased from Amazon on your Kindle, it is deleted from your Kindle but a copy is still available on the Amazon book management page, just in case you decide you want to put the book back on your Kindle. It is also still showing in the Kindle Archived Items folder.
If you did not purchase the book from Amazon, or if it is a Kindle periodical that is no longer on the Amazon servers, when you delete a book you will see a message: This item will be permanently deleted. Would you like to continue?
If you mistakenly chose to delete this book or periodical, you can hit the Back button on the Kindle to go back to where you were before you chose to delete.
If you confirm, then the book is removed; and if it was purchased from Amazon, it will remain on Amazon's servers just in case you ever want the book back again.
If you want to permanently remove a book from your Kindle library and Archived Items perform the following steps:
- Find the book in the Your Kindle Library list.
Click the Actions button and select Delete from library to permanently delete the book from your account and Archived items.
- The book is deleted from your account, and you will no longer have access to re-download the book on your Kindle from your account.
If you want to view your Archived items on your kindle you can do so.
Press the Menu button on your Kindle.
Select and click View Archived Items.
A list of all of the archived items on your Kindle will display on the screen.