About the Users Screen
Finally, the users screen is where you can add, edit and remove any Nessus users that you have registered. Now obviously this is an administrative function so regular users shouldn't even see this (outside of managing his/her password and such); but for those who do have administrative access, here's an illustration of the user manager:
Setting up users from this screen is similar to adding your initial user from the desktop server manager, except that we can use this interface away from the computer on which Nessus is installed should that be enabled within the firewall settings pertaining to whatever computer Nessus is running on. To begin, let's add a user now to demonstrate adding a test username. Unlike the first user we added, this additional user will not be set up for administrative access so the functionality in the case hereof will be more limited than otherwise. Begin by clicking the Add button, and you should see the following:
As you can see, the process of adding a user within the client looks much the same as when our first user addition was performed to implement the administrator username. Compare this with the server manager username implementation window (which is displayed one more time below here) and you'll see what I mean:
With that out of the way, we can now add our new username by typing in the following:
Note that we didn't check the Administrator option this time, since we don't want that implemented for our test username. Now click Submit, and the new username will be shown on a new line within the user manager, like this:
You can edit and delete usernames from this screen as well. Editing a username brings up a near-perfect copy of the new user screen, except you can only change the password and/or administrative status for the selected user; otherwise, it's exactly the same and thus we need not show an example this time. If you totally screwed up, or want to remove an unneeded username, just select that user, click Delete and confirm to remove that user. Obviously you cannot remove yourself, of course; but there's no need to. As with deleting anything else we described, deleted users are gone for good as well.
And that's a wrap! If you found this useful, then be sure to check any of the other how-to guides available right here on the Hub. Until next time...